2014 Chamber Councils and Committees

To get involved with any of the councils or committees in this brochure, sign up by contacting the staff member assigned to that area.

Economic Development Council

Chair Joe Bray | City President, BBVA Compass Bank
Supports San Antonio’s targeted industries consisting of aerospace, hospitality and tourism, military, information technology, health care & bioscience and manufacturing. The Council also organizes the annual Celebrate America’s Military (CAM) and SA to DC trip.

Aerospace Committee

Chair Juleen Sanftner | Marketing Supervisor, Gore Design Completions, Ltd.
Provides a forum for educating the community on issues of importance to the aerospace industry. This committee influences public policy at the local, state and federal level to encourage continued industry growth and job creation.

Celebrate America’s Military (CAM) Committee

Chair TBD
Coordinates the annual salute to the military, which occurs in November and involves more than a dozen events. CAM is recognized as the nation’s largest community-wide celebration of its kind, involving 200,000 people over an 11-day period.

Healthcare and Bioscience Committee

Chair Geoff Crabtree | Sr. Vice President, Methodist Healthcare System
Educates the community on the importance and impact of the local healthcare & bioscience industry. This committee advocates for critical issues affecting these industries and supports plans and programs designed to grow and sustain them.

Information Technology (IT) Committee

Chair Manish Kapoor | Senior Vice President Information Systems, NuStar Energy
Fosters growth and development of the local IT and cybersecurity industry. Implements the San Antonio Area Cyber Action Plan to promote cybersecurity education, workforce development, research and development, and collaboration among government, business and academic entities.

Military Affairs Committee

Chair Carroll Schubert | President & CEO, Professional Contract Services, Inc.
Promotes San Antonio by engaging the greater San Antonio community and especially its business community to demonstrably celebrate, support, maintain and grow the military presence in San Antonio. The committee will continue to partner with the city’s Military Transformation Task Force (MTTF) and support the military’s growth and missions in San Antonio.

Staff Contact for all Economic Development Committees and Council

Will Garrett, Vice President Economic Development
wgarrett@sachamber.org | (210)229-2163

Membership & Marketing Council

Chair Debbie Serot | President, Chief Marketing OnDemand
Evaluates and provides counsel on how to brand and market The Chamber to members, promotes the benefits of Chamber membership and leads the annual Membership Campaign.

Chamber Ambassadors

Chair Jackie L. Goerges | Senior Vice President, Physician Services, Nix Health
Provides ceremonial assistance to members at commemorative events such as grand openings, re-dedications and ground breakings. Participation as an Ambassador provides opportunities for business networking and community outreach.

Staff Contacts for Membership and Marketing Committees and Council

Tuesdae Knight, Vice President Business Development and Membership
tknight@sachamber.org | (210)229-2111

Becky Dinnin, Vice President Image/Communications
bdinnin@sachamber.org  | (210)229-2112

Education & Workforce Development Council

Chair Denise Green | Partner, BKD L.L.P.
Leads the business community and educators in partnerships that impact public education, expand access to higher education and develop a 21st century workforce to successfully compete in the global economy.

Education and Workforce Committee

Chair Nancy Hard | President/CEO, Family Service Association
Engages the education and business communities to improve educational attainment of our local students in all levels of school through initiatives, programs and policy changes. Develops strategies to secure a workforce pipeline through our education system, training programs for adults and transitioning military for key industries.

Staff Contacts for Membership and Marketing Committees and Council

Priscilla Camacho, Vice President for Education and Workforce Development pcamacho@sachamber.org | 210-229-2134

Public Affairs Council

Chair Bo Gilbert | Assistant Vice President Government & Industry Relations, USAA,
Gathers input from Chamber committees, members and partnering organizations and voicing the concerns and position of the business community to local, state and federal elected officials and government agencies.

Energy & Sustainability Committee

Chair Thomas Carter | Vice President, Pape-Dawson Engineers, Inc.
Identifies and supports long-term, cost-effective energy sources and policies to promote sustainability for economic growth in our community.

Legislative Committee

Chair Rudy Garza | Vice President, External Relations, CPS Energy
Creates and implements The Chamber’s state and federal legislative agendas developed by Chamber committees who identify issues that impact San Antonio’s business climate. The committee researches, discusses and implements The Chamber’s legislative priorities during the Texas State Legislative Session, special sessions and during the interim.

Transportation Committee

Chair K. Stephen Bonnette | Senior Vice President, Pape-Dawson Engineers, Inc.
Advocates for new and innovative methods of transportation funding that satisfy the infrastructure needs of San Antonio and the region. This includes leading efforts to advocate for the Lone Star Rail District, the Alamo Regional Mobility Authority Board and the San Antonio Mobility Coalition.

Water Committee

Chair Stephen D. Seidel | Past Chamber Chairman
Works to identify and support long-term political solutions to ensure an adequate, affordable quality supply of water on a regional basis.

Staff Contact for all Public Affairs Committees and Council

Roger ArriagaVice President Public Affairs
rarriaga@sachamber.org | (210)229-2160

Page Resources

Greater San Antonio Chamber of CommercePrint Friendly Page

Greater San Antonio Chamber of Commerce

Site Search