Chamber hosts reception to honor Larson Award Winners from 25th Air Force

The Chamber’s Cybersecurity and Military Affairs Councils hosted a reception for top Airmen from across the 25th Air Force command on Tuesday night.  More than 30 airmen, all of whom were selected as award winners in the Major General Doyle E. Larson competition, came from around the globe to San Antonio to be recognized in person by their command, and to engage command leadership in exercises throughout the week.  The reception was a part of the Chamber’s Military Affairs reception series, presented by USAA.

Annually, 25th Air Force conducts the Major General Doyle E. Larson Award competition, which recognizes the top technicians in 13 Air Force Specialty career fields, from across the 25th Air Force Command, vital to the intelligence, surveillance and reconnaissance missions.  The Larson Awards program originated in 1979, the year General Larson took command of the United States Air Force Security Service, one of the predecessor organizations of 25 AF.  Larson began the awards to officially recognize the command’s enlisted operations and support technicians. Since then, all eligible units conduct annual preliminary testing, or other selection methods, to determine who qualifies for enterprise-level testing.

Only about 14 percent of the eligible Airmen advanced to test at the Numbered Air Force level and vie for a coveted Larson Award.  The top Airmen in each of the 13 career fields included receive a gold, silver or bronze medal signifying their level of achievement; awards that will be announced Thursday at a ceremony which closes out a four-day visit to San Antonio for the award winners.

San Antonio business leaders joined the reception to meet and greet the 31 Airmen who were visiting San Antonio.  The group of award winners was led by Chief Master Sergeant Stanley Caddell, Command Chief, 25th AF, who addressed the group following remarks for Chamber President & CEO, Richard Perez, and USAA Senior Vice President & Chief Security Officer, Gary McAlum.


Following the reception, the award winners were treated to a barge ride on the San Antonio river.

For more information on how you can support and engage the Chamber’s Cybersecurity Council, contact Will Garrett ( and for the Chamber’s Military Affairs Council, contact Lori Stinson (

Want to become a member of the Chamber?