San Antonio Chamber of Commerce and San Antonio Hispanic Chamber of Commerce Announce 43rd Class of Leadership San Antonio

Earlier today, the San Antonio Chamber of Commerce and the San Antonio Hispanic Chamber of Commerce announced the 61 individuals who will make up the 43rd class of Leadership San Antonio (LSA).

Since 1975, LSA has long been recognized as San Antonio’s premiere leadership development program, providing participants the opportunity to experience new ways of serving our great community. The jointly-sponsored program identifies individuals who demonstrate exceptional leadership potential in their chosen profession and are active in community organizations that support San Antonio’s growth and development.

Co-chairs for LSA 43 are Casandra Matej, President and CEO of Visit San Antonio, and Denise Hernandez, Vice President of Development of True Flavors Catering.

“It’s going to be an important year for Leadership San Antonio Class 43, what we are calling LSA300. As we move into the year-long leadership program, we will integrate the Tricentennial, its importance in our city’s history and equal importance in where we are going. Our goal is to expose the class to the key industries in San Antonio, as well as discuss issues facing our community. It’s going to be a monumental year,” states Matej.

As LSA continues to connect local leaders with public and community servants who share the common desire for bettering our community, the program also exposes participants to diverse challenges that affect San Antonio and introduces them to tools that create positive influence toward their resolution. This broadens the participants’ knowledge base and helps them to develop a unique perspective.

“2018 will be a year of service, reflection and forward thinking. Our incoming class will be given an opportunity to partake in monumental events throughout the city as we come together to celebrate our rich history. The focus on Class 43, or LSA300, will be on understanding what makes San Antonio unique, along with taking a deep dive into our growing economy, infrastructure and the hard issues that we currently face,” said Hernandez. “I’m honored to be a part of the LSA leadership program and I am looking forward to making our mark within the city.”

The members of the LSA Class 43 Steering Committee are:


  • Steven Alaniz, Momentum Physical Therapy and Sports Rehab
  • Leroy Alloway, VIA Metropolitan Transit
  • Kim Biffle, Witte Museum
  • Will Brown, San Antonio Behavioral Healthcare Hospital
  • Kelli Cubeta, Cubeta and Clarke Law Firm
  • Marina Gavito, USAA
  • Jenee Gonzales, The Marianist Province of the United States
  • Barbara Greene, Greene and Associations, Inc. / CPI Firm
  • Anne-Marie Grube, Northwestern Mutual
  • Ashley Harris, Visit San Antonio
  • Bernice Kearney, KSAT 12 TV
  • Brandon Logan, SRG Force Sports
  • Michelle Martinez, Michelle Martinez Communications
  • Eduardo Parra, Parra & Co., LLC
  • JR Treviño, Treco Enterprises Inc.
  • Jeff Webb, Norton Rose Fulbright US LLP


The members of LSA Class 43 are:


  • Demonte Alexander, City of San Antonio, District 1 Councilman Roberto Treviño
  • Junab Ali II, Mobius Partners, Inc
  • Brian Anderson, Frost Bank
  • Jerry Arrellano, Palo Alto Colleges
  • Seymour Battle, Valero
  • Smita Bhakta, Kruger Carson, PLLC
  • Akeem Brown, SAGE
  • Michael Calder, Sundt Construction
  • Juan Cano, Cano Development
  • James Chandler, Innovative Multimedia Group
  • Emily Christy, USAA
  • Daniel Crites, Morgan Stanley
  • Jessica Davila-Burnett, JDB Public Relations
  • Taylor Dawson, Pape-Dawson Engineers
  • Rebecca De La Garza, Lifshutz Companies
  • Colleen Dean, JP Morgan Chase
  • Richard Delgado, Jr., Texas A&M San Antonio
  • Brian Dillard, Delta Risk
  • Hilda Draeger, University Medicine Associates
  • Stephen Dyer, Aventine Hill Partners, Inc.
  • Victoria Echeverri, SAISD
  • Elizabeth Eguía-García, Maestro Entrepreneur Center
  • Stephanie Finleon Cortez, Girls Scouts of Southwest Texas
  • Drew Galloway, Move San Antonio
  • Adriana Garcia, Our Lady of the Lake University
  • Jordan Ghawi, Southwest Texas Regional Advisory Council
  • Courtney Gill, GSG Property Management
  • Jessica Gonzales, Ernst & Young
  • Lana Harris, ROBOT Creative
  • Casey Heverling, Spurs Sports & Entertainment
  • Elizabeth Houston, Casa Rio / Schilo’s
  • Laura Jesse, KGBTexas Communications
  • Brad Kaufman, Transwestern
  • Aaron Kinsey , Santikos Real Estate Co
  • Ann Leafstedt, Jackson Walker LLP
  • Anissa Mahone, Our Lady of the Lake University
  • Lauren Mandel, Bexar Co. Comm. Wolff, Precinct 3
  • Kurt May, Federal Public Defender for the Western District of Texas
  • Lee McKenna, Ranger Health
  • Nicholas Monaghan, Dykema Cox Smith
  • Kevin Moore, i*financial
  • Ruth Morris, UT Health
  • Maria Nelson, Centro San Antonio
  • Ashlee Peña, Office of State Representative Justin Rodriguez
  • Matthew Pepping, Norton Rose Fulbright
  • Bret Piatt, Jungle Disk
  • Lisa Pinto, SWBC
  • Phillipe Place, Southerleigh Fine Food and Brewery
  • Yvette Robinson, Robinson General Contractors
  • Melessa Rodriguez, The DeBerry Group
  • Shanna Smith, Visit San Antonio
  • Melissa Sparks, Toyota Motor Manufacturing Texas, Inc.
  • Kristal Thomson, Langley & Banack, Incorporated
  • Jenny Trefzer, Zachry Group
  • Anthony Treviño, San Antonio Police Department
  • Mark Trexler, NuStar Energy L.P.
  • Paula Tucker, Boysville
  • Jacob Valenzuela, Deco Pizzeria
  • Ty West, Jones Lang Lasalle
  • Jason Westenskow, Zachry Corp.
  • Allison Wiesenthal, Brooke Army Medical Center

Want to become a member of the Chamber?