San Antonio Chamber announces 2019 Leadership

Your Chamber’s Board of Directors reaffirmed the election of Paula Gold-Williams as the 2019 Chair of the Board of Directors. Gold-Williams is the President and CEO of CPS Energy.

Gold-Williams has more than 30 years of leadership experience in San Antonio, including being a Regional Controller for Time Warner’s cable and telephony regional office and the VP of Finance for Luby’s, Inc., before joining CPS Energy in late 2004. Over her 12 years at CPS Energy, she has progressively served as Controller & Assistant Treasurer; VP & Chief Administrative Officer (CAO) – Organizational Excellence & Shared Services; EVP, Chief Financial Officer (CFO) & Treasurer; and Group EVP – Financial & Administrative Services, CFO & Treasurer.

“I am humbled and excited to serve as the 2019 Chair of the Board for the San Antonio Chamber of Commerce,” said Paula Gold-Williams, President & CEO of CPS Energy, our nation’s largest electric and gas municipal utility.  “As the leader of a 158-year old People First business that is owned by our community, I am also inspired to more deeply align the Chamber’s mission with everything that makes our San Antonio metropolitan city strong and keeps it a great place to work and live.”

In addition to her role at CPS Energy, Paula presently serves as a Board Member of the Federal Reserve Bank of Dallas – San Antonio Branch; Chair & Executive Board Member of San Antonio Public Television Station, KLRN; Board Member of St. Mary’s University’s and Chair on the Advisory Committee of Executives for the Greehey School of Business; Co-Chair of the Dentons Smart Cities/Communities Think Tank; Co-Chair of the Keystone Policy Board; Board Member and Executive Committee Member of the San Antonio Economic Development Foundation; Board Member and Treasurer of EPIcenter; CEO Member of Mayor’s Business Leaders Committee and the Mayor’s Airport Evaluation Committee; Member of the Large Public Power Council; Member of the Texas Public Power Association; Member of the San Antonio Medical Foundation; Advisory Committee Member of FM Global; Advisory Committee Member of Southwest Research Institute; Advisory Committee Member of the University of Texas at San Antonio School of Engineering; Advisory Board Member of The Tobin Center for the Performing Arts; and Board Member of the Electric Power Research Institute.

Gold-Williams has an Associate Degree in Fine Arts from San Antonio College. She earned a BBA in Accounting from St. Mary’s University as well as a Finance & Accounting MBA from Regis University in Denver, Colorado. She is a Certified Public Accountant and a Chartered Global Management Accountant.

Nominating Task Force Selects 2019 Chair-elect

 The Nominating Task Force also selected Adam Hamilton as the 2019 Chair-elect. Hamilton is the President and CEO of Southwest Research Institute (SwRI).

“As President and CEO of one of the largest employers in San Antonio, I’ve seen first-hand how the Chamber of Commerce continues to serve an important role in our city’s business and economic success,” said Hamilton. “I look forward to being a part of this dynamic organization. It is an honor to serve the Chamber and our great community.”

Adam Hamilton serves as President and Chief Executive Officer of SwRI, one of the nation’s largest independent providers of advanced scientific and applied technology solutions. A not-for-profit 501(c)(3) conducting more than $500 million of research each year, the Institute provides solutions for problems encountered from deep sea to deep space, and practically everywhere in between.

He holds an M.S. degree in Engineering and a B.S. degree in Aerospace Engineering, both from The University of Texas at Austin. He has been a Professional Engineer since 1993. During his career, Hamilton has provided technical expertise to myriad programs in government and industry. His multidisciplinary technical expertise includes engineering, science, and risk assessment. Before joining SwRI, Hamilton was the founding President and CEO of Signature Science, LLC, which is now a wholly-owned subsidiary of the Institute and specializes in national security, biotechnology, chemistry, environmental science and engineering. Prior to starting Signature Science, he was employed at Austin-based Radian Corporation.

Hamilton currently serves on the Executive Committee of the United Way of San Antonio and Bexar County. He is a member on the External Advisory Committee of the University of Texas at Austin Department of Aerospace Engineering and Engineering Mechanic and has served on the board of the University of Texas at San Antonio College of Sciences Advancement Council.  He is a Trustee of the San Antonio Medical Foundation and a Special Trustee of the Texas Biomedical Research Institute. Hamilton is also a member of the American Society of Mechanical Engineering Industry Advisory Board, a member of the Industry and Community Affiliates of The Academy of Medicine, Engineering & Science of Texas, and a member of the Dee Howard Foundation Board of Directors.

The Board of Directors will ratify the selection at the January Board Meeting.

Want to become a member of the Chamber?