Ron Nirenberg returns for a second term as Mayor, three fresh faces join the San Antonio City Council

For the second cycle in a row, the Mayoral race was decided by a Runoff Election. Along with the mayoral race, City Council Districts 2, 4, and 6 were also up for grabs. Despite concern that turnout would be extremely low – the election drew 15% of registered voters. More than 89,000 ballots were cast during early voting and more than 31,000 people voted on Election Day.  Turnout was the highest we have seen since the 2005 Runoff Election between Phil Hardberger and Julian Castro, where 18.8% of eligible voters hit the polls.

The mayoral race was a nail bitter. Mayor Ron Nirenberg started the evening with a narrow lead from early voting totals. As the night went on and more votes were counted, Councilman Brockhouse was able to cut into Nirenberg’s lead, but it wasn’t enough. With 100% of the precincts counted, Nirenberg secured 51% of the vote compared to Brockhouse’s 49%.

The mayoral race wasn’t the only close race, District 2 was decided by 268 votes. Jada L. Andrews-Sullivan ended the night securing 52% of the vote, enough to claim victory over Keith A. Toney who secured 48%. In District 4, Dr. Adriana Rocha Garcia cruised to victory over Johnny Arredondo with 72% of the votes. In District 6, Melisa Cabello Havrda jumped out to an early lead and never looked back. Havrda, receiving 57% of the votes, successfully defeated her opponent Andy Greene.

With all three women winning their elections, San Antonio will have a female majority city council for the second time in its history.

To honor the success of San Antonio’s “new” City Council, we are hosting a New City Council Reception. The Chamber is thrilled to announce that we will be partnering with the North San Antonio Chamber of Commerce and the RK Group to host this celebration. Make plans to join us on June 27, 2019, at the Depot at Sunset Station, 5:30 p.m. – 7:00 p.m. This event is a great opportunity to build, strengthen and forge new relationships with the Mayor and City Council members.

Click here for more information about the event.

Want to become a member of the Chamber?